Sign In | Register

Vanilla White- Color Stabilizer

Vanilla White- Color Stabilizer
Description:

Vanilla White Color Stabilizer is a patent pending fragrance technology designed to be added to aqueous bases that have color stability problems resulting from vanillin and other aromatic ingredients which tend to oxidize and cause browning.  For the first time, water based formulas can be stabilized by including a small amount of Vanilla White Color Stabilizer.  Phthalate-Free.

 

Here is Toasted Marshmallow Cold Process Soap.  The dark brown soap contains 0% vanilla white color stabilizer.  The creamy white soap contains equal amounts of toasted marshmallow fragrance oil and vanilla white color stabilizer. Results courtesy of Stephanie Bruns; a long time soap maker.

 

 

Applications of Vanilla White Color Stabilizer:  Liquid soap bases, bar soap bases, glycerin soap bases, cold process soap, hot process soap, shampoos, conditioners, fabric softeners, detergents, air fresheners, and lotions; essentially any product that is not anhydrous.

 

Physical Form: Water white liquid with slight haze.

 

Odor: Vanillic character.  Although this product is completely safe, it has a very strong odor out of the bottle.  You will not notice this odor in finished products.

 

Recommended use level: Added to the base at 0.3% by weight (this is the recommended usage rate of the manufacturer).  We have found that you may need to use more in your formulations; 2 parts fragrance oil to 1 part vanilla white color stabilizer.  In the event that a fragrance contains very high levels of vanillin, we suggest using a ratio of 1 part fragrance oil to 1 part vanilla white color stabilizer.   It is suggested that you add the vanilla white color stabilizer to the actual fragrance oil, then add that mixture to your formulation. 

 

Precautions: Store in a dry cool location.  Do not combine with strong acids, nitrates or oxidizing agents.

 

Natures Garden does not sell the same vanilla stabilizer that is found at other companies.  Vanilla white was formulated by an actual chemist/perfumist, who has a patent pending on this product.  Since Natures Garden has not tested this product in every vanilla-containing fragrance on the market, we do not claim that it will work with all fragrance oils.  Testing will need to be done by the customer with all fragrances they choose. 

 

Not for use in candle making.  Our fragrance oils already contain anti-oxidative agents that prevent discoloration in candle making applications.

 

Natures Garden is not responsible for the results of any finished products.


View MSDS Sheet / IFRA Certificate
EU Allergen Data Sheet

Reward points:
Purchasing this will earn you 2.99 rewards points!

Customers who purchased this frequently purchase:


Customer Reviews:

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other viewers! Please review fragrances after you have put them in a finished product. Fragrances smell differently in finished products than they do in the bottle. All reviews that follow our rules will be posted.

Avg. Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Number of Reviews: 20

1 out of 5 stars Ugh! 03/08/2014
Reviewer: Michelle Chester from Wichita, KS US
The only reason this has one star is because there isn't a no stars option. It changed the color of my sugar scrub cubes drastically, from a soft orange to yellow and mint green to sky blue. The consistency is off as well it is soft and they have a glycerin like coating. I have bought many other products and have been very happy but this one is a no go!
1 out of 5 stars Bought me a couple of weeks 03/05/2014
Reviewer: A viewer from Springfield, MO US
I'm disappointed and this is too expensive to have it not work. I had lovely off white soap for about 2 weeks, then it all turned dark vanilla brown. Interestingly, when I cut a bar of it after 6 weeks cure, it is white inside.
3 out of 5 stars No luck 02/09/2014
Reviewer: Amanda Rigot from Onaway, MI US
I haven't had any luck with this product yet. Furthermore I haven't been able to figure out the exact formulation for mixing it with scent. Use more stabilizer up to a 1:1 for a high vanillian content. What is considered high? Using 1:1 may completely hide the fragrance. Price is a bit expensive to be running too many tests, so I think better directions from the supplier would be handy.
3 out of 5 stars Made soap very soft 01/25/2014
Reviewer: Gina from Troy, ID US
I used this with the cotton candy fragrance oil at a 1:1 ratio. I had to leave the soap in the mold for 5 days before it was hard enough to cut it. After 2 days, I had to hot process the soap because the bars didn't stand up under their own weight. Not sure if I used too much stablizer or what, but 2 4lb batches made a day apart came out with the same results. Next time I will try to lower the ratio and see if that helps.
3 out of 5 stars color disappeared 11/02/2013
Reviewer: Tricia Miller from Lance Creek, WY US
I used this color stabilizer only once, but my experience was that it made the colorant I added to the soap disappear. I just used a small amount of soap batter and colored it orange with a lab color (for a swirl), and it looked fine when I first poured it, but the color has completely disappeared now. It did keep the rest of the soap from browning, but I am very disappointed in the color loss and am hesitant to use it again.
4 out of 5 stars Worked great 06/26/2013
Reviewer: Melissa Stanford from Fernley, NV US
first time I used a vanilla stabilizer. Worked better then expected. It is a bit pricey though, bigger jugs or lowering the price a little bit would be desirable.
1 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointed - pink panther with brown s 06/02/2013
Reviewer: Tina Rogers from Zurich, Switzerland CH
I usually work with EOs only, but I had a customer wanting my pink panther-ricemilksoap with vanillascent. So I got the Vanilla Spectacular and the stabilizer Vanilla White. I used it 1:1 according to the instructions. Well, first the pink stayed wonderfully pink! Then after 2 days it started to turn brown... now after 4 days the soap looks stained brown and pink (unfortunately not the speckles I wanted). Many hours of work and a lot of expensive ingredients to be thrown out! Now I'm waiting for a miracle, hoping that while curing it might turn pink again... I'm extremely disappointed.
5 out of 5 stars Works great 01/07/2013
Reviewer: Tracy H from MA US
Used with vanilla FO and vanilla sandalwood. Both remained creamy colored instead of discoloring. Great product.
5 out of 5 stars Great Product but need bigger bottles 12/03/2012
Reviewer: LOUISE CAPRISTO from Oxnard, CA US
I have used this product and love it! The only thing I would change is: It needs to be sold in a larger container...1 gallon....or discount on 5 bottles...it's just costing me too much for 16 oz. bottle.
2 out of 5 stars Made my hot process soaps stink 10/14/2012
Reviewer: Char from Philadelphia, PA US
I made a large 100oz batch of hot process soap. I had a problem with my previous batch browning from angels whispering and blackened amethyst fragrance oil blend so I decided to add this to keep my marble cream and green color in my soaps. Well initially they smelled great then later today after letting it sit a lil longer to cut it reek half fragrance and half vanilla white stabilizer which smells awfully offensive and very strong to the point my eyes watered smelling it not knowing how bad it smelled. I don't know what to do. I feel terrible for I sold half my batch and may lose customers to the offensive smell now showing through. Wondering if it has anything to do with the lactic acid I added to get a harder bar or not. I may have to toss the rest of this batch.
3 out of 5 stars Very stinky in scrubs 10/05/2012
Reviewer: Ducky from USA
In making sugar scrubs, I found it to change the scent of the finished product drastically. It is actually offensive and it did not subside over the course of a week, with the lids off. My test items without it stayed the same color and smell sooo much better. I had to dump 12 jars. It might be because there is no water in my products...
5 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE! 09/23/2012
Reviewer: A viewer from Millville, NJ US
I used 1.5 oz of stabilizer to 2 oz of NG Vanilla Buttercream fragrance oil, mixed well and let sit while blending CP soap. Mixed again then added to soap mixture...end results? Perfect!!! Finally, a creamy white soap bar that smells like luscious vanilla!! Definitely worth it!!!!!
5 out of 5 stars Great product 08/26/2012
Reviewer: Jodi from Kearneysville, WV US
Used this in a Sandalwood Vanilla blend of FO's and it stayed a nice cream color, just want I wanted. I used 1:1 ratio. The Vanilla Bean FO will discolor to almost black, so I was very impressed how great this works!
5 out of 5 stars A little bit 10/24/2011
Reviewer: Silva Clevenger from Centerville, OH US
This has been effective and so far I have no discoloration in soaps or lotions. I was most amazed at how little you need.
5 out of 5 stars so far so good 08/08/2011
Reviewer: yummystuh from Ontario, Canada
I've used this with the NG Vanilla Bean scent and it has worked so far. The Vanilla Bean goes a very dark brown over time. I don't mind that either, but sometimes, white is nice.
5 out of 5 stars So far so good!! 07/23/2011
Reviewer: Tammy from Jasper, IN US
Everytime I have used this it works!!! Don't sniff this though! It smells awful!! Wear a mask!!
1 out of 5 stars didn't work 05/17/2011
Reviewer: A viewer from Minnesota
I used this in the natural soy body butter base mixed as body spray, with Pink Sugar scent (mixed it with this and let sit before adding) and it made the body milk look very curdled and I had to remake the bottles I used this with. I hope it works better in the imagine base as foaming soap?
5 out of 5 stars Does The Job! 03/29/2011
Reviewer: Yolanda Martinez from Salem, OR
I have quite a variety of vanilla fragrance oils which I use in my products so a stabilizer to help keep the color from turning tan or brown is important to me, especially since I don't use dyes or colorants in my products. The Vanilla White-Color Stabilizer has worked like a charm for me plus, a little goes along way. I wouldn't make a vanilla based product without it.
2 out of 5 stars Have not had good results with this 03/02/2011
Reviewer: Dee Bellini from Wyoming, MI US
I've used this in 3 soaps made with high vanillan content FO's, each from different companies. All three developed brown speckles almost right away, the cherry vanilla from another company went completely dark, the clementine cupcake from someone else got the speckles and has darkened slightly, and the Caribbean from NG got dark around the edges and dark speckles, but no other noticible darkening. Don't know if it's worth the extra expense.
5 out of 5 stars works as advertised 12/31/2010
Reviewer: Kristen Gagnon from Yellowknife, NT CA
Used this with an FO from another company that discolours badly in my CP soap (high vanillan content). Worked like a charm. Just let it sit while I got everything else blended and made sure to thoroughly combine the FO into my oils. Worked like a charm. I put a permanent note on the bottle for the blending instructions and am reordering more.



Size Your Price Qty
1 oz. $ 2.99
4 oz. $ 7.99
8 oz. $ 11.99
16 oz. $ 17.99
Fragrance Special
Last Viewed Items