Sign In | Register

Citronella Fragrance Oil

Citronella Fragrance Oil
Description:

Citronella Fragrance Oil

This fragrance oil by Natures Garden is reminiscent of a wild Indonesian Herb used to keep bugs away.

NG Recommended Fragrance Usage:  Citronella Wholesale Fragrance Oil:  The percentages listed below reflect our maximum suggested fragrance usage in the corresponding finished products.  To review the IFRA Certificate of Compliance for this particular fragrance, please refer to the link at the bottom of this page.

    Vegetable Waxes & Paraffin Wax Maximum Use 10%
    Potpourri & Incense Maximum Use 50%
    Bath Oils, Soaps, Bath Gels Maximum Use 5%
    Lotions & Perfumes Maximum Use 5%
    Cleaning Products Maximum Use 5%

Please Note:  Due to the fact that our fragrances are 100% concentrated, we suggest that you test our fragrances in finished products before you make any conclusions about our fragrances.  Since our fragrances are so strong, we suggest only using 1/2 ounce to 1.0 ounce of fragrance per pound of candle wax. 

Coloring Suggestions:  Citronella Wholesale Fragrance Oil:

    Candles Use 3 drops of yellow liquid candle dye per 4 pounds of wax or shred a small amount of a yellow color block into your melted wax. Never use crayons to color your candles as they will clog your wick.
    Bath/Body Products Use yellow soap dye in the amount that satisfies you. Never use candle dye in any body products.

Important Fragrance Specifics:  Citronella Wholesale Fragrance Oil:

    Phthalate-Free & Nitro Musk Free Fragrance Yes 
    Flash Point of Fragrance 208F
    Vanillin Content of Fragrance (In the event that a fragrance contains vanillin, it may tend to discolor bath and body products and soap.  Please test thoroughly.) 0% 
    Gel Wax Compatibility
    (It is your responsibility to test each fragrance purchase.)
    No

 Fragrance Testing -Performance in Various Applications-  Citronella Wholesale Fragrance Oil:  Note: Our testing notes should never take the place of your own personal testing.  Always test fragrance in all applications.  We do not take responsibility for our test results differing from your test results.  Natures Garden is not responsible for any finished products made with our raw ingredients.  These cold process soap results were done by hand mixing.  Stick blenders can help to incorporate fragrance back into the soap in the event that it rices during the mixing process.  Fragrances containing vanilla ingredients may discolor soap. Vanilla White Color stabilizer may help prevent discoloration due to vanilla.  However, there are more than 40 ingredients used in fragrance manufacturing that may contribute to discoloration of products.  

    Candles Performs perfectly in joy wax, wow wax, and is nice and strong in soy wax.

    Soap (Cold Process Results)

    Perfect Pour, no ricing, no acceleration.  Soaped like a dream!  The scent is amazing.  No discoloration after cure.   
    Perfumes Performs perfectly
    Bath & Body Products Performed well
    Room Scenting Nice and strong in aroma beads.

Fragrance Oil Specifics
View MSDS Sheet / IFRA Certificate
EU Allergen Data Sheet

Reward points:
Purchasing this will earn you 2.5 rewards points!

Customers who purchased this frequently purchase:


Customer Reviews:

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other viewers! Please review fragrances after you have put them in a finished product. Fragrances smell differently in finished products than they do in the bottle. All reviews that follow our rules will be posted.

Avg. Customer Review: 5 out of 5 stars
Number of Reviews: 20

5 out of 5 stars Lemon Citronella 03/12/2014
Reviewer: Teresa Vines from Dodson, LA US
Some folks don't care for the strong scent of citronella, myself included. So I had a request for something in lemon. My customer loves to go camping, so I thought why not combine the lemon and the citronella together. Wow....the lemon comes through, yet you can smell the citronella. The scent throws very nicely without over whelming you. I am so pleased with this scent. 1oz centronella w/1 1/4 oz of lemon.....excellent for camping, deck sitting, around the pool.
3 out of 5 stars attract instead? n3.5 stars 10/12/2013
Reviewer: Sandra Robinson from Doylestown, PA US
well i finally received this item, went outside and sprayed around some windows and this stuff seemed to attract more stinkbugs...well they eventually died but it took so long. I need Thyme, cinnamon,wintergreen,rosemary oils. these are the ingredients in one product that kills/repels stinkbugs. thanks and yes this citronella is extremely strong. No mosquitoes or any other bugs were bothering me while i was outside doing yard work in the evening.
5 out of 5 stars for stinkbugs 10/11/2013
Reviewer: Sandra Robinson from Doylestown, PA US
I bought this cause it's supposed to be one of the essential oils to help get rid of stinkbugs..i did burn some of this in my oil burner and it is very strong..so hopefully this will work in getting rid of those horrid creatures and if it does i will be ordering more to keep on spraying around the house.
5 out of 5 stars Bugs Away! 03/28/2013
Reviewer: Sandy from Wallingford, PA US
I used this fragrance oil in my Whipped soap, last summer and kept all the bugs away, even the no see'ums grrr! Campers, Hikers and family have requested more for this season.
5 out of 5 stars Must have in the summer to keep bugs away 02/22/2013
Reviewer: Jennifer Cressy from Mishawaka, IN US
I use this product in candles. I make these candles for campers. Campers keep needing more. Anyone who enjoys the outdoors will need these candles.
5 out of 5 stars Very Strong 06/15/2012
Reviewer: Tranise Toliver from Monroe, LA US
I read the review and was advise to make these candles outside. Me being me I decided I didn't want the nosey neighbors to stoping by outside so i would do it inside. Well my house was horrible for a week. This is some super strong stuff. It will more than keep the bugs away.
5 out of 5 stars WOW 07/01/2011
Reviewer: Izabela Mroczko from Cincinnati, OH US
I am so glad I listen to my friend to make citronella candles outside! This oil is super strong! True citronella smell. Works like a charm in soy candles. I also made a sample of a lotion for customer and she says the lotion repels bugs while she is fishing!
5 out of 5 stars WOW! 06/30/2011
Reviewer: Briana Auclair from Attleboro, MA US
I can't even put my face near the melting pot while I make this it's so strong - it works AMAZING though. I use CB 135 and made two terracotta containers of this for my deck. I have had them out there for 2 weeks, unlit and the bugs are no where to be found. I suspect if I lit them the neighborhood would be bugless.
5 out of 5 stars Candles 05/31/2011
Reviewer: Trish Brown from Baltimore, MD US
I made a few candles for my husbands camping trip and used just about 1 1/2 of this and the bugs were no where to be found. This stuff was amazing thanks!
5 out of 5 stars Should Keep the Mosquitos Away 05/06/2010
Reviewer: Ron B from FL
Fantastic scent. Made using Ecosoy PB for customer also in made votives. Customer very impressed with fragrance and color. I am purchasing another 1lb container today.
5 out of 5 stars Strong but effective 09/02/2009
Reviewer: SHAWN SCHRINER from SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA US
wow, this is strooong stuff. I opened the bottle in the house and the scent wafted all through it. In fact, the next day we could still smell it! My husband said it was giving him a headache so I had to put it in a bag and seal it. Makes your eyes water while making it, but it's very effective at keeping bugs away! I make candles out of it and also have used it in my dog soap recipe. But in small doses.
5 out of 5 stars P.U. But people LOVE it..... 08/12/2008
Reviewer: Carlena Krueger from Jackson, NE US
I'm not a fan of this fragrance - its definitely strong & does keep the bugs away....I make t-lites & take them with us to the drive in movie theatre & one t-lite does the trick! I highly suggest getting this for Mosquitos!!
5 out of 5 stars Great for mixing with certain fragrances 07/08/2008
Reviewer: Debra S. from Medford, OR US
I had a person who lives in the Philippines, ask for Citronella, mixed with another fragrance. I mixed his with 2/3 Citronella and about 1/3 Eucalyptus. It smells great, still strong -- with just a hint of Eucalyptus, and works wonderfully for any bugs outside. Other fragrances good to mix with it, are Clove, Mint, and Lemongrass. Just mix at least 1/3 Citronella.
4 out of 5 stars STRONG 02/28/2008
Reviewer: Triple C from Warren, OH US
Hard to find a really good citronella FO and this was really overpowering to make in an inclosed area so it should be great for outdoor burning.
5 out of 5 stars really works 08/01/2007
Reviewer: Cristy from Farmington, MO US
this works great.i made candles in this to sit on my deck and bugs were getting near it b4 lit and dying.and when it is lit they won't even get close.i also made this in a bath gel for my dog so bugs would stay away when she's outside,and it really worked.i love it.recommand it all the way
5 out of 5 stars A real bug eliminator!!! 05/04/2007
Reviewer: Annie from Forked River, NJ US
I made some patio candles with this citronella scent. OHHH BOY is it strong!!! definately not a good scent for indoors... making it in batches inside the home made my eyes water!! But it is a great outdoor candle.. It's sure to keep the bugs away!!!
5 out of 5 stars Skeeter Be gone! 04/26/2007
Reviewer: Katheryn Honaker from Gray, TN US
I ordered this oil thinking it might be a good seller. However, it definitely keeps the bugs away and to verify that..it was sent to Iraq where the mosquitoes are HUGE...hub said the candle kept the guys from getting bit as long as they had it burning. Other GIs requested this in care packages and stated that it also kept gnats and flies away as well as that it worked better than OFF brand candles. If it can keep away Iraqi bugs on the run...I am sold on this product!!
5 out of 5 stars works great 04/15/2007
Reviewer: Zelphia Plunk from Texarkana, TX US
This oil really does work.
5 out of 5 stars Bug-B-Gone 09/24/2006
Reviewer: Tami Stern from Phoenix, AZ US
Citronella, really does work. It doesnt really rain here in phoenix, but when it does the bugs come out. I took some of this scent on cotton balls and laid them on the table and no bugs came around the cotton balls. Cant wait to make soap and send it back up to wisconsin.
5 out of 5 stars Citronella Candles 06/07/2006
Reviewer: Shauna McKinley from Elida, OH US
I used this citronella candle and used emtpy beer/pop cans.Hot glued the wicks on the bottom, added an inch or so of sand, and poured citronella soy wax on top of the sand. Sells like crazy. Really keeps the bugs away!!!



Size Your Price Qty
1 ounce $ 2.50
4 ounces $ 7.50
8 ounces $ 9.50
16 ounces $ 13.95
5 POUNDS $ 63.75
10 POUNDS $119.90
25 POUNDS $274.75
Fragrance Special
Last Viewed Items