Sign In | Register

Absinthe Fragrance Oil

Absinthe Fragrance Oil
Description:

Absinthe Fragrance Oil

A fragrance oil by Natures Garden-  Absinthe, also referred to as "The Green Fairy", is an anise-flavored, highly alcoholic beverage derived from the distillation of various herbs; including wormwood.  Absinthe was once banned around the world because it was portrayed as a dangerously addictive psychoactive drug that produced hallucinations, but this vilification of the liquor was never verified.  The ban on absinthe was lifted in the USA in 2007, and the sales of absinthe have skyrocketed since that time.  Traditionally, absinthe is prepared by placing a sugar cube on top of a specially designed perforated spoon.  Absinthe is placed in the glass below, and ice-cold water is drizzled slowly over the sugar cube.  The resulting liquid is cloudy in appearance.  A modern method, The "Bohemian Method" is another method of preparing absinthe for consumption.  This method involves setting the sugar cube on fire before drizzling the ice-cold water over the sugar cube. The sugar cube is soaked in absinthe prior to its lighting.  Obviously, our fragrance oil is not to be consumed.  We believe we have captured the taste of absinthe in the smell of our Absinthe fragrance.

Natures Garden's Absinthe fragrance oil is an aromatic blend of just the right combination of star anise, fennel, spicy cinnamon cassia, nutmeg, melissa, fresh green herbal notes, with base notes of amber and woods.   

NG Recommended Fragrance Usage:  Absinthe Wholesale Fragrance Oil:  The percentages listed below reflect our maximum suggested fragrance usage in the corresponding finished products.  To review the IFRA Certificate of Compliance for this particular fragrance, please refer to the link at the bottom of this page.

    Vegetable Waxes & Paraffin Wax Maximum Use 10%
    Potpourri & Incense Maximum Use 50%
    Bath Oils, Soaps, Bath Gels Maximum Use 5%
    Lotions & Perfumes Maximum Use 5%
    Cleaning Products Maximum Use 5%

Please Note:  Due to the fact that our fragrances are 100% concentrated, we suggest that you test our fragrances in finished products before you make any conclusions about our fragrances.  Since our fragrances are so strong, we suggest only using 1/2 ounce to 1.0 ounce of fragrance per pound of candle wax.

Coloring Suggestions:  Absinthe Wholesale Fragrance Oil:

    Candles 1 drop green liquid candle dye or a small amount of shredded green color block per 4 pounds of wax.  Never use crayons to color your candles as they will clog your wick.
    Bath/Body Products Green liquid soap dye in the amount you desire.  Never use candle dye in any body products.

Important Fragrance Specifics:  Absinthe Wholesale Fragrance Oil:

    Phthalate-Free & Nitro Musk Free Fragrance Yes 
    Flash Point of Fragrance  194 F
    Vanillin Content of Fragrance (In the event that a fragrance contains vanillin, it may tend to discolor bath and body products and soap.  Please test thoroughly.)  0%
    Gel Wax Compatibility
    (It is your responsibility to test each fragrance purchase.)
    Yes

 Fragrance Testing -Performance in Various Applications-  Absinthe Wholesale Fragrance Oil:  Note: Our testing notes should never take the place of your own personal testing.  Always test fragrance in all applications.  We do not take responsibility for our test results differing from your test results.  Natures Garden is not responsible for any finished products made with our raw ingredients.  These cold process soap results were done by hand mixing.  Stick blenders can help to incorporate fragrance back into the soap in the event that it rices during the mixing process.  Fragrances containing vanilla ingredients may discolor soap. Vanilla White Color stabilizer may help prevent discoloration due to vanilla.  However, there are more than 40 ingredients used in fragrance manufacturing that may contribute to discoloration of products.   

    Candles Performs perfectly in joy wax, wow wax, and is nice and strong in soy wax.

    Soap (Cold Process Results)

    Moderate ricing, trace acceleration, cinnamon may have caused ricing and acceleration.  Cinnamon pops after adding soap. No discoloration.
    Perfumes Performs perfectly
    Bath & Body Products Performed well
    Room Scenting Nice and strong in aroma beads.


Fragrance Oil Specifics
View MSDS Sheet / IFRA Certificate
EU Allergen Data Sheet

Reward points:
Purchasing this will earn you 2.5 rewards points!

Customers who purchased this frequently purchase:


Customer Reviews:

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other viewers! Please review fragrances after you have put them in a finished product. Fragrances smell differently in finished products than they do in the bottle. All reviews that follow our rules will be posted.

Avg. Customer Review: 5 out of 5 stars
Number of Reviews: 48

5 out of 5 stars great kind of different! 04/06/2014
Reviewer: shortcake from USA
this scent is very different, but in a great amazing way! it has a spicy exotic smell, one you dont find everyday. i always offer my customers to sniff this one from my candles or air fresheners and they are amazed because not everyone knows what absinthe is and after that sniff, sold!
5 out of 5 stars Love this scent. 03/30/2014
Reviewer: Connie Kessinger from Smiths Grove, KY US
After reading the reviews on this fo I was really skeptical to use it in cp soap. But I blended it with just a little Anise Star eo (reviews did say it was light on the licorice smell), stirred instead of blending, and was able to do an in-the-pot swirl and it behaved beautifully!! Love it.
4 out of 5 stars I love, I mean hate, I mean love, this fragrance 03/11/2014
Reviewer: Bonnie from San Jose, CA US
Smells nothing like real absinthe. There is no cinnamon in absinthe, yet that is the strongest note to my nose. Immediate ricing and acceleration in CP soap, to the point where the soap was barely able to be glopped into the mold, let alone shaped in any kind of appealing way. So, why did I give this four stars? Because, despite the shortcomings, people LOVE how it smells. One of my most popular scents, actually. So, I suggest: 1) Name it something other than "absinthe;" I called my batch "Evil Wood Elf" (partly as a joke because I thought nobody would be interested in the soap) ... and 2) Follow the CP tips in the review written by "Emily McNew from Bon Aqua, TN US" to avoid the ricing/acceleration issue.
5 out of 5 stars Great unisex scent! 03/05/2014
Reviewer: Melissa Linn from Ollie, IA US
I just love this scent!! I made it in cocoa butter m&p & it smells fantastic! Great for men, but would also work for those daring & mysterious women out there! :)
5 out of 5 stars Fantastic scent with no issues for CP soap 02/28/2014
Reviewer: Kristina Godwin from Fuquay Varina, North Carolina US
After reading the many reviews on this scent, I was totally prepared for issues with this scent when I decided to finally use it in a CP soap. This was a special request by my husband, as he picked out this scent when I ordered a variety of 1 ounce bottles (my very first order) so I could get a feel of the variety of scents from Nature's Garden. I even wrote on my bottle to expect acceleration and ricing. I knew it would discolor, so I planned for it. I made the CP soap with beer (Guinness), so I wanted to make it look like a beer. I may have been tempting fate because using beer in place of water was risky on its own (in avoiding acceleration), but adding this FO which already has a known history of ricing and acceleration documented was probably not a great idea if I had wanted an easy go of it. Luckily, I had no issues at all - with either the beer OR the fragrance. I even made a comment to my husband as I was stirring the FO into the soap batter that I should be seeing ricing or acceleration occurring, but neither did. I was really surprised. I did soap just under 100 degrees (~95/97) and I didn't stick blend too much after I added the FO to the soap batter. I will order this FO again as it was a pleasure to work with, and hopefully I will get just as good of a reaction with my next batch as I did with this one. If you are on the fence with this soap, consider soaping a little cooler, and being very easy on the batter (stir more, SB a little less) and you very possibly may not have any issues either.
5 out of 5 stars like 02/03/2014
Reviewer: Tatiana Kriventsova from Vladivostok, Выберите область RU
Unusual flavor, used in soaps, loved. Like not only men but also women
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful scent 12/18/2013
Reviewer: Clint Barton from Minot, ND US
I make character inspired scents, and I was in search of something Loki like, and this was definitely a good choice. Though I intend to make candles and tarts, I made perfumes for some friends for Christmas, and they turned out wonderfully.
5 out of 5 stars Secret to Absinthe CP soap 10/09/2013
Reviewer: Emily McNew from Bon Aqua, TN US
I used this in M&P and it worked fine. I tried it in CP soap and got dark spots all through the soap as well as ricing and acceleration. I learned a secret and made another batch using CP method and it came out PERFECT! The secret is to not stick blend unless you absolutely have to. After you pour your lye water into your oils, stir the two together until you get an even color and texture ( I stirred for about 3 minutes to be sure), then add your absinthe FO to your batch and stir. The acceleration of the FO brings you close to trace if not right at light trace. If you have stirred for about 3 minutes after you've added the FO and you still haven't reached trace, pop the batter with a stick blender for a 3 count and test. If not at trace, do another 3 count, but do NOT over blend. Light trace where the batter lightly lays on top of the batch is what you want. You are now ready to pour into the molds. The batch I did this way turned out beautifully. I just wanted to share with everyone because this fragrance is amazing! Also, if you want to add any colorant, do it before you add your fragrance oils. Good Luck!
5 out of 5 stars Absolutely unique! 09/24/2013
Reviewer: PYBK from McKinney, TX US
I'm always looking for unique scents and this definitely fits the bill. The cassia stands out most from the spice tones and there's just the right amount of anise/fennel. I made CP soap but waited until my lye water and oils were below 100 F. It riced after I added at light trace but I stick blended it, which of course caused it to accelerate trace. I had to be creative when it came time to transfer to the mold b/c it was like pudding consistency. Even then, I love the fragrance! I hope my customers do too so I can make it part of my line.
5 out of 5 stars Awesome 09/18/2013
Reviewer: Christine DiSilvestre from Kensington, MD US
I made whipped soap with this and had no problems whatsoever. It did discolor a bit in the form of little random brown spots. Gorgeous Christmas scent!
2 out of 5 stars Poor performance in CP 09/12/2013
Reviewer: Dawn Lawrence from Calgary, Alberta CA
This scent was one of the oddest ones that I have ever used. I did notice a bit of acceleration, but what got me is that it started forming small blobs that stayed even through stick blending. When I cut the soap, there were pockets of the FO in the soap. The smell is not bad, but really didn't like the way it performed. :(
5 out of 5 stars Very true to Absinthe drink 08/22/2013
Reviewer: Vanessa Robley from Cranston, RI US
I have never tried the drink Absinthe, but my husband has and he says that the scent is true true to the real deal! He says out of the bottle not so much but once it is in soy wax it is perfect!! This scent has been pretty popular due to it's "uniqueness" factor. I made sure to put in my candle description it's nickname "Green Fairy" and some people have been interested just because of that alone! It's an interesting, complex scent that totally intrigues my customers. The fact that you cannot get this scent in the stores helps out as well. Once again, NG has out done themselves! Thanks!!
5 out of 5 stars yum 08/18/2013
Reviewer: Bryce Jenkins from Hobbs, NM US
I like this. It is spicy and unique. I made a candle from it and it really blooms.
5 out of 5 stars Awesome scent, but not for CP! 08/12/2013
Reviewer: A viewer from US
This is a wonderful scent, and extremely popular with my customers (especially during the holidays). I have already gone through at least five 1lb bottles of this scent! It has a deep, complex spiciness that people love, it is strong but not overpowering (it's good to go a little lighter on this scent), it's unisex, and the scent stays and stays and stays. With that said, it is a pain in the you know what when it comes to CP. No matter what precautions I've tried... soaping very cool, adding scent to oils before lye, moving fast, etc... it accelerates FAST FAST FAST. However it is a DREAM in HP and causes no issues at all. Don't waste the time or energy with CP'ing this scent because you're probably going to have to rebatch it. (which, by the way, if you do, the scent sticks through it). Go ahead and just HP this one from the get go and you won't be sorry. It's well worth it!!
4 out of 5 stars Good For Hot Process 04/01/2013
Reviewer: Tia Rials from Kalispell, MT US
This did not work in CP.I tried it twice and it bombed.It does work lovely in hot process and I'm glad about that because the smell is incredible.Spicy,a little anise, sensuous.I would buy this again.
5 out of 5 stars Love it! 03/10/2013
Reviewer: Anna from AL
I love this scent. It is a hit with my customers too. Used in MP soaps and it holds very well.
5 out of 5 stars LOVE 03/05/2013
Reviewer: Sonja Moran from Somerdale, NJ US
this one is a huge hit, not only with my customers but with myself & husband loves it too! smells absolutely amazing. very strong scent in soap. I made a black m&p soap with this one and it turned out awesome. I'm ordering a bigger size next time to do candles and possibly perfume as well.
5 out of 5 stars Spicey 02/08/2013
Reviewer: A viewer from US
Smells very nice very spicey in cp soap.
5 out of 5 stars Beautifully elegant spicy scent 12/17/2012
Reviewer: Rebecca Presley from Eden, NC US
This scent is a delicious blend of spice, herb and sweet. It is hard to describe but it is more spice than herb and just a tad bit sweet smelling, as if to invoke the sugar cube used with preparation of an absinthe drink. It is not candy sweet. but just a hint of sweet; and it is not heavy cinnamon, like most expect "spice" to mean, but a perfect balance of the spices (Like in proper masala chai, not too much cinnamon). I am the type of person that loves spice cake, proper masala chai (not overly cinnamoned like most American blends), pumpkin pie that I have spiced accordingly... and this fragrance is absolutely delightful to me. It is my favorite fall and winter scent. I used it in pure soy wax, 1 oz per pound and the hot scent throw was just right. You could burn it for hours and not over power the room like most of the high $ scented candles do, *coughyankeecandle*, pardon me. But the scent was still very present, not intrusive or obnoxious, but also not so subtle that you forgot it was burning. And the cold throw... well, I accidentally infused a little paper composite gift box with the scent by setting it on top of one of my absinthe candles, but not coming in contact with the scented wax, and the gift box (about the size of a ring box) smelled unmistakably like absinthe and it was a nice accidental touch to the gift wrapping of that particular gift. And sitting the candle 6 feet away from the couch I could smell it, though not burning. So I think it might do lovely in bath applications.
4 out of 5 stars Dark and spicy 12/06/2012
Reviewer: A viewer from NC US
This is a great scent if you like dark & spicy, and I have many customers who ask for this one if they don't see it on my display. Makes a nice candle too during the holidays. I have not had much of an issue with acceleration as some people have mentioned, but I have had this soap cure to a dark brown every single time (and I'm on my second 16oz bottle) which keeps me from being able to color it green like I would like to. Aside from that, I love it.
3 out of 5 stars Great Scent 09/20/2012
Reviewer: Renee from Reno, NV USA
I'm giving this 3 stars because the scent is amazing! I absolutely love it, however it did cause my CP to seize. I will HP or use it in other products from now on. It's a bit disappointing that I have to re-batch. which I hate to do but at least it was a learning experience.
3 out of 5 stars Great scent, not so great in CP 09/16/2012
Reviewer: Virginia Trujillo from Chandler, AZ US
I will most likely only use this fragrance in M&P from now on. It accelerated trace tremendously in my soap recipe (which is quite basic) and I ended up having to scoop and smash the stuff into the mold. My advice to CP soapers is to do a simple one color soap and add your color prior to adding the FO. It was very disappointing, the scent is so alluring but I found myself wanting to slice off an ear after my soaping debacle.
5 out of 5 stars Nice, strong, dark & spicy 09/10/2012
Reviewer: A viewer from NC US
People who like the dark & spicy scents really like this one a lot in our CP & HP soaps. It is strong but not overwhelming. I find that people either really like these dark scents or they really don't... with my dark/spicy customers, this is a top seller. Side note: I didn't notice any acceleration as noted in the description. Does discolor.
5 out of 5 stars My new favorite scent!! 05/24/2012
Reviewer: Jessica from Shreveport, LA US
This fragrance was great OOB and is fabulous in my parasoy candles. It is a sensual and soothing fragrance. I was worried about it smelling like incense...but it is very clean. It has excellent hot and cold throw and the scent lasted through the life of the candle. I am ordering a large bottle now.
5 out of 5 stars AMAZING scent! 05/14/2012
Reviewer: Rachel Vincun from Cape Coral, FL US
I have quite a large inventory of fragrances and this one is hands down in my top 5 out of hundreds in stock. Soap, perfume, lotion... it's a strong seller for me and I pray you never stop carrying this mystic and addicting fragrance.
5 out of 5 stars Will be reordering! 05/01/2012
Reviewer: Laura Harris from WINNFIELD, LA US
I'd seen this fragrance in a lot of other soapers' line, so I ordered a 1 oz to give it a try. Used it in a pumpkin puree HP soap for the spicey notes, and it is amazing!
5 out of 5 stars best fragrance ever!! 05/01/2012
Reviewer: Brandee from Slidell, LA US
ABSOLUTLEY MY FAVORITE SCENT EVER!! It is so unusual, deep, hypnotic...customes continue to buy my candles and soaps in this. Can not make enough. I will absolutely continue to buy this over and over and over and over again!
5 out of 5 stars Intoxicating 03/27/2012
Reviewer: Coral Jordan from San Diego, CA US
Strong, a little goes a long way! Used in lotion, body wash and melt and pour soap and everyone goes crazy for it. The perfect blend of spicy and clean
2 out of 5 stars not that great 01/19/2012
Reviewer: TikiBarSoap from Birmingham, AL US
Smells overly spicy, rices, accelerates trace, overall smell is not that great. I will not be purchasing again.
5 out of 5 stars Spicy and Mysterious! 10/08/2011
Reviewer: Eden Retherford from Las Cruces, NM US
I was intrigued by this fragrance and thought it would make a great scent for Halloween candles. It's a surprising balance of masculine/feminine and throws great in all-natural soy wax. It's strong without being overpowering and has all the elements that come to mind when you think of the green faerie. Definitely making this a staple scent in my collection.
4 out of 5 stars Terrific Scent in CP! 09/22/2011
Reviewer: Lauren from San Francisco
The smell is PERFECT! Spicy, clean, and holds up incredibly well in CP soap. However, it did rice immediately and accelerate trace, so pour early to be able to recover. No discoloration or seizing though. Will be buying more!
4 out of 5 stars Great Scent! but will discolor :( 07/31/2011
Reviewer: Jackie from San Antonio, TX US
I love this scent in my hp soap! I can keep sniffing it all day and never get tired of it, the only problem I have is that it will turn the soap brown even though it says that it contains no vanillin, this is after I tried it twice just in case I did something wrong the first time, had a nice green color but about 8 hours later I wound up with brown spots and in a few days it discolored to a medium green brown, hoping that vanilla stabilizer will solve this
5 out of 5 stars Good seller 07/28/2011
Reviewer: Anna from Alabama
Used in MP with green mica and glitter. Customers like the spicy clean scent.
5 out of 5 stars Amazing fragrance 05/26/2011
Reviewer: Donna from Chicago, IL US
NG has outdone themselves with this oil. It is straight up magnificent. I have used it for tarts, diffuser oil and roll on perfume. I can not get enough of this unique, heady fragrance. BTW, one tart burned for 5 days straight using a para soy blend!
5 out of 5 stars Fabulous scent 04/25/2011
Reviewer: A viewer from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan CA
I love this scent, it does accelerate in CP soap. I will be buying more, I made soy wax tarts with it too, they smell divine, my customers love them , hard to keep in stock..
5 out of 5 stars mysterious and fine 04/19/2011
Reviewer: Robert Dembinsky from Manassas, VA US
Really love this in my oil burner, it is a mysterious exotic scent.
5 out of 5 stars Well Behaved!!! 04/06/2011
Reviewer: LongLeafSoaps from Elyria, OH US
This fragrance looses no power, and soaped beautifully using the cp/op method. No acceleration, or trace issues...smells AWESOME!
4 out of 5 stars Love it 03/21/2011
Reviewer: Robyn from NJ
Smells great! Probably the best Absinthe I've used to date. It's a great unisex fragrance and does very well for me in MP soap and perfume.
4 out of 5 stars Nice fragrance, but not true to absinthe 03/20/2011
Reviewer: Camille from IA US
I used this in soy wax at about 7% and the throw was very good. The scent is very interesting, although is heavy on the cinnamon, which is not present in any of the absinthes that I have tasted. If the anise was heavier, it would be closer. That said, it is a nice and slightly mysterious fragrance- I would change the name in a product.
5 out of 5 stars Can't stop smelling my hands! 03/09/2011
Reviewer: Kristy Small from Maywood, NJ US
I absolutely love this! I wasn't sure out of bottle, but it is fabulous once soaped! It really does have a complex sweetness with a spicy tone. I tried it in M&P tonight and I can't stop smelling my hands after washing up my mixing container. I'll be using it in my body butter next and then trying CP. I am SO glad I decided to buy from Nature's Garden. This was the scent that brought me to you in the first place! Never get rid of it!
5 out of 5 stars A nice surprise 03/02/2011
Reviewer: Gloria Harris from Warner Robins, GA US
I like this fragrance alot. It isn't like any other fragrance, which makes it very nice. The more I burn it the more I find new scents in it.
3 out of 5 stars Not for me 02/28/2011
Reviewer: Tiffany from Texas
Something in this one gives me a headache. I did not like this one but think it is just personal preference. I cp and used it at 1 ounce ppo. It accelerated and discolors to a medium tan.
5 out of 5 stars lovely scent 01/28/2011
Reviewer: PAMELA HOLLY from FRESNO, CA US
I agree it mysterious, yet intoxicating scent,I love it in soy tarts.
5 out of 5 stars Intoxicating and Complex 11/02/2010
Reviewer: Christina from Huntington Beach, CA US
Very lovely fragrance, I can smell all the different notes of anise, fennel, cinnamon, etc. There's something about this fragrance that's intriguing and mysterious, yet intoxicating. Nice scent for both men and women. Made some body butter and M & P soap, which I think my customers will love.
5 out of 5 stars Complex and beautiful 10/21/2010
Reviewer: Lori Scott from Amarillo, TX US
This has been my favorite fragrance from NG now since my first order. The beauty of this fragrance is so complex that it is difficult to describe. As it cures, it becomes so strong, but never overpowering in soy, but easily fills several rooms with it's scent. Each time I smell this, and each burn it seems to bring out other notes in the oil. This fragrance has been the longest lasting in soy tarts. My husband loves this one as well.
5 out of 5 stars LOVE this scent! 10/09/2010
Reviewer: A viewer from Pennington, NJ US
This has got to be my favorite scent from NG. It's quite complex and doesn't really fall into a typical category. It's not fruity, floral, foody, spicy, green, warm, etc. I'm not quite sure how I'd describe it, it's just a beautiful scent! I tried it in M&P soap and it worked beautifully. In a small CP sample, it riced and has discolored to a medium tan. I haven't tried it yet in a full batch, but am looking forward to it. I think the ricing should be fairly easy to fix with a stick blender. The scent did change slightly in the CP soap, but the original scent seems to be coming back as it cures. Either way, the inital CP scent was a nice one as well, though a little more masculine. Keep up the good work and keep this in your product line!
5 out of 5 stars Intoxicating! 10/07/2010
Reviewer: Mystik Muses from Louisville, CO US
Love this for men and women alike. Heady, earthy and fresh too! I just love it! I used this in clear soap, ritzy shower gel and lotion bases works great in all.
5 out of 5 stars Loving This One!!!!!! 09/25/2010
Reviewer: Sharon Warren from Hammonton, NJ US
I just love this scent. Used in my hot process soap and it is wonderful. I can smell each ingredient listed and it comes together wonderfully. I already make an anise eo soap but this one, is outstanding. Truly!!!!!!



Size Your Price Qty
1 ounce $ 2.50
4 ounces $ 7.60
8 ounces $ 9.70
16 ounces $ 14.29
5 POUNDS $ 64.95
10 POUNDS $119.90
25 POUNDS $274.75
Fragrance Special
Last Viewed Items