Sign In | Register

All Natural Lip Balm Base- 1 pound

 All Natural Lip Balm Base- 1 pound
Description:

Natures Garden's All Natural Lip Balm Base 1 pound tub.  This base can also be used to make your own all-natural solid perfumes.  Make your own all natural lip balms,  Make your own all natural solid perfumes,   Make your own lotion bars,  Make your own foot balm!  It is so easy!


Lip Balm Recipe: In order to make 1 pound of lip balm, this is the recipe we found works the best: 1 pound melted lip balm base + 2-3 packets of powdered stevia (some like it really sweet, while we liked it just sweet enough) + 5 teaspoons of flavoring.  

We have found that the flavorings which are bakery type or vanilla will require up to 6 teaspoons of flavorings for this recipe; while flavorings that were fruity type required as little as 4 teaspoons for this recipe. When adding the flavoring and stevia to your lip balm base, make sure that the base is throughly melted. The heat will allow the stevia to disperse in the lip balm base. We do not recommend heating the lip balm base with the flavoring already added or you will lose some of the scent throw of your flavoring. Our stevia powder contains an all natural substance called maltodextrin; a carbohydrydrate from grain products that allows the stevia to better disperse in the lip balm...reducing the gritty problem that we found with plain stevia powder. 1 pound of our lip balm base will fill 94 of our lip balm tubes!! You can easily see that this product has great profit margins for you! 

Why choose Natures Garden's Lip Balm Base?

1. Our lip balm base is 100% all natural; made with only the finest, top-of-the line ingredients (several of which are also certified organic). Ingredients:  coconut oil, bees wax, organic shea butter, organic cocoa butter, tocopherol (vitamin e).  Be advised that since our lip balm is made of all natural ingredients, batches will range from creamy white in color to yellow in color.

2. Our lip balm base does not have any sort of chemical taste like so many lip stick/lip balm bases do. 

3. Our lip balm base feels smoothe and silky on your lips; naturally moisturizing your lips.  The lip balm is not tacky feeling like many petroleum-based lip balms.

4. Our lip balm base will save you time and money.  The natural ingredients are already mixed together for you.  All you will have to do is melt the lip balm, add flavoring, sweetener (powdered Stevia with maltodextrin), and color (if desired), pour into lip balm tubes or pots, and allow to set up at room temperature.

5. Our lip balm base is very affordable. 

6. Our lip balm can be used to make more than just lip balm!!  You can use the very same base to create your own all natural solid perfume!  You can use this base to create all-natural vapor rub.  You can use this base to create your own foot balm.  You can use this base to make your own lotion bars!  Why buy numerous bases to make these products when all you need is this one base? 

7. Our lip balm base is packaged in heavy-duty, white, opaque plastic tubs.  Shipping our lip balm base in these containers during the hot, summer months should reduce the likelihood of the base spilling into your package during delivery.  When testing this lip balm base, we actually melted the lip base base in the microwave in these containers and the plastic seemed to be unaffected by the heating process. 

8. One pound of our lip balm base makes approximately 65 1/4 oz. lip balm pots, or approximately  90-94 lip balm tubes!  This product allows you to easily, and affordably add new products to your line; all of which have good profit returns.

Flavoring your lip balm:  When making your own lip balms, you want to make sure that you use Natures Garden flavoring oils or essential oils instead of fragrance oils to flavor your lip products. Review the specific IFRA guidelines sheet for each essential oil you use; specifically reviewing category 1 for lip applications.  Usually, you will use 1-5% flavoring oil in your lip applications.  The more flavoring oil that you use, the thinner your lip balm will become.  Our flavorings were specifically formulated for use on the lips. We have been testing new flavorings, and should have a much larger variety in the future.  Never use water based flavorings in our lip balm base. 

Sweetening your lip balm:  Natures Garden has tested numerous sweeteners for lip balms.  We have found that a powdered stevia extract with maltodextrin works the best.  Simply add a very small amount of powdered stevia with maltodextrin to your flavoring, and add to your melted lip balm base.  Natures Garden carries Powdered Stevia extract with Maltodextrin.  The maltodextrin was added to the stevia extract powder to help the sweetener flow better in lip balm or edible products; reducing the gritty feeling that you experience with plain stevia extract powder.  Maltodextrin is a food grade product made from the sugars of grain.  Both stevia and maltodextrin are all natural products.

*Note:  Since stevia is a natural plant material, it will have polarity (water loving characteristics).  Anytime you add a polar product to non-polar product (lip balm base made with 100% oil loving characteristics), the products will not dissolve; only disperse.  The addition of maltodextrin allows the stevia to disperse better in lip balm bases, but it will not completely dissolve.*

Coloring your lip balm:  Natures Garden is in the process of getting specific colorants that are considered safe for use in lip products.  Currently, we do not carry any colorants which can be used for this purpose.  Never use candle dyes in lip products.  Our soap dyes cannot be used in lip balms because they are water based dyes. Food coloring cannot be used to color lip balm because food coloring is water based and will not mix with the lip balm.

Making your own solid perfumes:  Melt the amount of lip balm base that is required to fill your selected containers.  Add 1-5% body safe fragrance oil (always review the IFRA guidelines for each fragrance you choose).  By the way, you can substitute flavoring oil or essential oil for fragrance oil if you desire, but make sure that the flavoring is oil based flavoring.  Add mica pigment (if desired) to give your solid perfume shimmer!   Pour the melted mixture into your desired containers.  Lip balm pots work nicely for solid perfumes.  Allow to cool at room temperature.  That is it! 

Labeling your Lip Balm Tubes:  You lip balms will need to be labeled according to the labeling requirements set by the FDA.   We have found that the best sized label would be 1.75" x 1.25". This size of label will allow you fit all of the necessary labeling information. This label is Avery #6570 barcode label. 

Shelf Life:  2 years

Additional Products You May Need:

Flavoring Oils

Essential Oils 

 All Natural Lip Balm Base

Lip Balm Tubes

Lip Balm Trays 

Disposable Pipettes

Mica Pigment

Lip Balm Sweetener

Lip Balm Coloring

Fragrance Oils (for solid perfumes)

 

Lip Gloss Base



Reward points:
Purchasing this will earn you 7.99 rewards points!

Customers who purchased this frequently purchase:


Customer Reviews:

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other viewers! Please review fragrances after you have put them in a finished product. Fragrances smell differently in finished products than they do in the bottle. All reviews that follow our rules will be posted.

Avg. Customer Review: 5 out of 5 stars
Number of Reviews: 43

5 out of 5 stars I am in LOVE with this base! 04/11/2014
Reviewer: Sherry R. from Gainesville, GA US
I tried making my own lip balms for the first time using this base. OMG I could not be happier with this stuff. You don't even need to melt it to add the mica powder. A little elbow power and it whips up in no time. I scooped it into my pots and set them aside to firm up. *I did try to melt the base and use it that way first with less than satisfactory results. The liquid started to solidify before I could get it all pored and it firmed up with little "spots" throughout the balm. I'm going to try making Solid perfumes next. Thanks NG you have a life long customer!
5 out of 5 stars Great stuff. 02/27/2014
Reviewer: Kim KELLEY from Three Rivers, MI US
This is very good for lip balms and cream perfumes.I add lots of stuff to it but had to make it harder by adding Kokum Butter for craft shows in summer because they all melted . Because of pricing and the product it`s self they purchased, quite often come back for 10 more. Love it
5 out of 5 stars Love this base! Recipes for lotion bars/perfume a 02/23/2014
Reviewer: Courtney Sheppard from Mishawaka, IN US
This base is great for lipbalms! Does anyone have recipes for making it into lotion bars and solid perfume? Is it okay to use as is? Thanks so much for any replies!
4 out of 5 stars Nice and smooth 01/11/2014
Reviewer: Shelby Crandell from Simi Valley, CA US
Made my first batch of balms with this and so easy. Glides on nice. could be a tad firmer. scented nice and will buy again.
5 out of 5 stars Perfect base! 12/22/2013
Reviewer: Marcella Long from Millmont, PENNSYLVANIA US
I am so glad I purchased this base. I order base from another company only to find it very soft. No matter what I tried, it wouldn't firm up. I ended up purchasing from Nature's Garden and found the base to be perfect for my lip balms. I don't plan on trying any other bases in the future.
5 out of 5 stars Easy to Use 12/15/2013
Reviewer: Jennifer Snyder from New Tripoli, PA US
I use this base for solid body balm sticks and also for lip balms. I love that it is all natural and the same recipe that I use when I make mine from scratch. Very easy to use, scent and fill the tubes. Customers love it!
5 out of 5 stars Love it! 10/27/2013
Reviewer: Elise from West Covina, CA US
I absolutely love this base! Like nothing I've ever tried before and my friends, family, and customers all love it! Sometimes the simplest products are the best.
4 out of 5 stars Nice product 09/17/2013
Reviewer: Lorrie Brown from United States
This is a very nice product. It doesn't have a heavy feeling to it.
5 out of 5 stars Easy Peasy and Awesome Product 08/09/2013
Reviewer: Bee from Huntsville, TX US
Ordered this to add lip balms without all the hassle of formulating a base - when it came we all had to play with it and scooped out a bit to pass around. EVERYONE loves it! Leaves your lips soft and smooth, no funky after taste at all. One more thing I will be back for time and again!
5 out of 5 stars KISS ME! 04/25/2013
Reviewer: Jennifer Thompson from Summertown, TN US
LOL! I love this. My husband complains about how greasy a lot of lip products are and how he hates when he kisses me that he feels like he's all greasy too... Well, no more! He loves this lip base as much as I do and it gives your lips a nice soft feeling and not greasy at all!
5 out of 5 stars This is the best! 03/08/2013
Reviewer: Michelle P. from Indianapolis, IN US
This is the best base ever! Very easy to work with and makes a beautiful, soft, and silky lip balm.
5 out of 5 stars works good 03/05/2013
Reviewer: Sonja Moran from Somerdale, NJ US
i like this, works great for salves, perfumes and lip balms all the same. wonderful product. smells a little off though but does not come through when scented for perfumes. the weird smell came through with my lip balms though even after they were flavored. not a really bad smell, maybe just a little bitter?
5 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST LIP BALM BASE!!! 02/28/2013
Reviewer: Jocelyne Moore from Paris, TN US
This is the best lip balm base I have ever tried!! Last year I opened a lip balm shop on Etsy, and I had tried a ton of bases trying to find one that didn't have a nasty after taste, wasn't gritty or left your lips feeling caked up. I finally ended up making my own recipe and sold thousands of lip balms on Etsy, but my recipe doesn't compare to the creamy, long lasting goodness of NG's lip balm base!! This is the perfect base, very convenient to use, and you can feel great knowing you are offering your customers top quality products! Thanks NG!
5 out of 5 stars I could not be more impressed!! 02/23/2013
Reviewer: Andrea Hart from Hot Springs, AR US
I made lip balms for the first time ever using this base. It was so easy, and so fun, and I sold every single tube! Customers went gaga for it and they all want more! This container of base made about 100 tubes. Will most definitely buy again!
5 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL! 02/03/2013
Reviewer: Julia Tennant-duff from Spotsylvania, VA US
This makes great lip balm! I love it and Everyone who I have given lip balms to loves it! It's nice and smooth and creamy and really moisturizing on your lips!
5 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!! 01/13/2013
Reviewer: Elaine Chavez from Selma, CA US
This is my first time making lip balms and although I can't compare it to something else I've made, I can compare it to many store lip balms I've bought. I LOVE it!!! I have been asked to make these since I placed my photos on Facebook and Instagram. Every single person has told me they loved it.... It leaves your lips so soft and glides on evenly. Even my husband thinks its awesome. I'm going to make a stick for cuticles and try the sugar scrub in stick also. This is great product!!
5 out of 5 stars Great Lip Balm 12/18/2012
Reviewer: Maggie from Ohio
This is a great lip balm and I would compare the texture, feel, and slip to many of the high-end brands found in stores. I cannot say enough good things about this product. Also makes a great cuticle salve and solid perfume.
5 out of 5 stars great product 10/16/2012
Reviewer: C Anderson from Hagerstown, MD US
People I've sold lip butters to using this product can't say enough good things about it. They love the light feel on their lips. Thanks NG!
5 out of 5 stars Very Nice! 07/17/2012
Reviewer: Jackie from San Antonio, TX US
Gives a nice silky feel to your lips, and works great as solid perfumes!
5 out of 5 stars Best lipbalm base available! 07/13/2012
Reviewer: Ginger from WA US
I ordered lipbalm base from 7 online companies. This was the best one! Not to hard or soft. Feels nice on your lips and as my friend told me it works wonders on your cuticles too.
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful multipurpose base 06/23/2012
Reviewer: A viewer from University Place, WA US
I ordered from many companies trying to find the perfect product. This is it. Lipbalm and perfect as cuticle balm if left unsweetened. Would highly recommend to everyone!
5 out of 5 stars Great Base 05/29/2012
Reviewer: Craftologist from West Memphis, AR US
I love, love love this base, and I'm more of a lip gloss type of girl! This base produces a silky feeling to your lips!!!
5 out of 5 stars Simple and economical! 03/03/2012
Reviewer: Laura Harris from WINNFIELD, LA US
Great price and easy to work with! Stretched far, will definitely be my go-to balm base!
5 out of 5 stars Lovely! 02/28/2012
Reviewer: Genny from Elk Mound, WI US
I've tried many different lip balm bases and even made my own after not finding any that I liked. But Natures Garden has changed that. This base is the nicest I've used. It goes on wonderfully, no nasty chemical smell, doesn't leave the yucky build up of white stuff on your lips and the price is wonderful.
5 out of 5 stars 10 STAR SMOOCH SAVER 02/06/2012
Reviewer: Andrea from Harker Heights, TX US
This is a great base and easy to use. I made me a few tubes,cause after I got my braces on I found myself spending lots of money on lip balms to keep my lips from getting dry. This balm is a great smooch saver and keeps the ole smoochers in tip top shape,so go head buy a pound your smoochers will thank you:)
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful! 02/04/2012
Reviewer: Daphne Henson from NC US
This lip balm base is wonderful, as well as the price! I've had rave reviews from everyone who has used this product in my lip balms. Definitely cuts down on the work of mixing my own and time is money!
5 out of 5 stars Love it! 12/28/2011
Reviewer: Virginia Scaglione from Howell, New Jersey US
This was my first time trying NG's lip balm base. I have to say, it is wonderful! I made the lip balm and the family loves it. I also experimented with the base and added patchouli, avocado, and chamomile to make a balm for dry skin patches and irritations, diaper rash. It is fantastic! I just placed an order for more, since I have lots of ideas for it and everyone I sampled it out to, really liked it. I wished it came in a larger quantity tub as well.
5 out of 5 stars Excellent Lip Balm 06/19/2011
Reviewer: Naomi Terry from Quathiaski Cove, BC CA
Hi my name is Naomi and I am a lip balm-aholic...lol. This is truly the best lip balm I have ever used! I have a least 20 lip balms floating around and these are my favorite!! And so happy that I can flavor them the way I want. Eager to see if I can sell some too!! Thank you!
5 out of 5 stars Smooth and silky 04/09/2011
Reviewer: Jeanette Lutz from Deltona, FL US
I have never made lip balm before so I thought I would try this base for a few reasons, one: it is very inexpensive. two: it is all natural. And I must say this is one of the nicest balms I have used. I love chapstick, I keep them all over the place, in my purse, in my desk at work, on the night stand... so I was glad to find one that I can say I made myself (with adding the flavor of my choice). Thanks NG for a superb product!!!
5 out of 5 stars The absolute best! 03/30/2011
Reviewer: Trinity Candles Plus from Kenton, OH US
This base is amazing. I use it to make SO many of my products. I had a great rep. for candles then I made a batch of this and pushed it out for a fund raiser. All the sudden my candles are all but in the dust and Ive got a crazy demand for lip balm! My church sold 248 tubes in 3 days. WOW! Thank you NG!
5 out of 5 stars Best lip balm EVER! 03/11/2011
Reviewer: ScentedCreations from Corvallis, MT US
Easy to package and goes on smooth. This is a wonderful product. Better than any store brand.
5 out of 5 stars love it 03/04/2011
Reviewer: Stephanie from Schenectady, NY US
When I first got this, I thought yikes this looks hard to do. The base was hard. I starting scooping it out and it was easy to make. My lip balm is awesome. I made bubblegum. I have not tried any other bases so I do not have anything to compare it to.
5 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!! 01/28/2011
Reviewer: Janet Singsank from IOWA USA
This product has kept me from getting very, sore lips this winter and that's a first! After I got the stevia amount right I have no problems at all! So cost effective and moisturizing!! Keep up the great work NG!
4 out of 5 stars It's Okay, But... 12/24/2010
Reviewer: BC from MIDWEST, USA
Was looking for a cheaper base than what I'd bought from BC, and this base is okay, but it isn't as soft and creamy-feeling as the other. The other has a very smooth, creamy, off-white appearance (looks beautiful in clear push-up stick containers) and NG's base is a bit harder, yellower, and doesn't feel as creamy. It's just a firmer base, perhaps with more beeswax in it? But I like the hint of cocoa butter scent it has, and it does work, and that is all that matters, I suppose. I'd say NG's base would make a better lip balm and the other base would be a better solid lotion, esp when using clear containers. So I guess it's a push when we look at it like that. :)
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful Product! 11/10/2010
Reviewer: Michelle Doerr from Lexington, MI US
Another customer recommended the natural lip balm to me and gave me some to try out.....WOW what great stuff. I just recieved my order yesterday, so you know what I'll be doing today! Lip balms and solid perfumes. Thank you soo much!
5 out of 5 stars So sheer and moist 10/23/2010
Reviewer: Denise Cummings from Warner Robins, GA US
Everyone loved the lipbalms I've made with this. It's light and easily absorbs into the skin. Granted my own lips needs a bit more staying power, but I do love how this feels and will be making solid perfumes, etc. with this as well :D
5 out of 5 stars Smooth 10/21/2010
Reviewer: Karen Wicks from Alpena, MI US
Excellent product. It goes on smoothly and is not tacky or sticky like other lip balms I've used! I am spoiled with this one...I'll never use any other!
5 out of 5 stars easy to use 10/20/2010
Reviewer: Crystal Rooker from Akron, OH US
I just finished my first batch! It was soooo simple. I was a little concerned about melt temp vs pour temp like with candles but I quickly learned this stuff cools QUICK! Before I knew it the base was solid. I cut the recipe to 1/4 and still made 25 tubes. I did have to re-heat it a few times because of how quick it cools and I wasnt working fast enough but that didnt seem to be an issue either. It melted quick with low heat and no trouble!
4 out of 5 stars Sootihing 10/04/2010
Reviewer: Paula Reilly from Callahan, FL US
Very easy to make, great feel, not greasy, just smooth.
5 out of 5 stars Great lip balm! 09/11/2010
Reviewer: Michelle Bell from Haverhill, MA US
Awesome lip balm base, leaves you lips feeling soft and supple. Goes on smooth, not greasy at all, just right!
5 out of 5 stars BEST Lip Balm Base EVER!!! 07/14/2010
Reviewer: Keisha Nicole from Washington, DC US
I've tried other lip balm bases from a few other companies, but it never felt right. This one right here... LOL It's THE BEST!!!! My search is OVER! Everyone who tries it LOVES it! It's a keeper!
5 out of 5 stars Excellent product! 06/16/2010
Reviewer: Izabela Mroczko from Cincinnati, OH US
I used this base few days ago and made lip balm in tubes. The base is amazing! it's not sticky like some lip balms, goes on smooth, stays on lips for a long time, nice and silky. I had some people test and and they love it! Great product again NG!
5 out of 5 stars Very Smooth and EASY to make! 04/26/2010
Reviewer: Tennille Ashworth from Ashville, OH US
I tried this lip balm today and was shocked at how simple it was. Although I haven't quite figured out the flavoring, the base itself is very nice. It is not greasy or sticky at all. It is very silky and smooth & has a slight gloss to it. Even with very little flavor, it doesn't have a bad taste. You could definitely use this w/o any flavor with no problems. I used 1 oz. of base and it made 1 small jar and 3 tubes. Another excellent product from NG! Great choice!!!



Size Your Price Qty
1 Pound $ 7.99
Fragrance Special
Last Viewed Items