Sign In | Register

Color Blocks Dye

Color Blocks Dye
Description:

Natures Garden includes color suggestions for each of our fragrances in the description area of each fragrance. Note:  The picture that is shown above are wax tarts made using our color blocks.

Candle coloring blocks. Available in Red, coral/peach, yellow, blue, green, purple, burgundy, brown, teal, cinnamon, and cranberry.   One block is enough color to deeply dye 15 pounds of wax.  Each block is between 1/2 ounce and 1 ounce each.  For use in candles only.  NEVER use these color blocks in cosmetic products!
Color blocks are dye dispersed in a wax medium. 
Color blocks do not produce as vibrant colors as our liquid candle dye or powdered candle dye.
Color blocks may produce specks of color on the bottom of your candles.  Make sure your color blocks are fully melted before pouring your candle wax.
Using too much color in your candles may clog your wick, create more smoking, may reduce the melt pool of your candle, and may inhibit scent throw.

How to Mix Your Own Colors

Blue-  A primary color, you cannot mix this one.
Yellow- A primary color, you cannot mix this one.
Red- A primary color, you cannot mix this one.
Black-  You cannot make black.  To get a black candle, use black liquid candle dyes or black powered candle dyes. 
White-  Add no color
Orange-  Mix yellow and red to your specifications
Pink- Simply use red, but in small quantities in your candles
Ivory-  Use a small amount of brown in your candles.
Burgundy- Use mostly red and add a small amount of black
Brown-  A mix of yellow, blue, and red
Plum- A mix of red and blue to your specifications
Purple- A mix of red and blue
Teal-  A mix of blue with a little yellow
Green- A mix of yellow and blue
Cinnamon-  A mix of brown with a little red added
Sage- Green with a little brown added to it
Navy Blue-  Blue with a little black added to it
Fushia-  Red with a little blue added to it
Peach-  Simply use small amount of orange
Hunter Green-  Green with a little black added to it
Burnt Orange-  Orange with a little brown added to it



Reward points:
Purchasing this will earn you 0.99 rewards points!

Customers who purchased this frequently purchase:


Customer Reviews:

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other viewers! Please review fragrances after you have put them in a finished product. Fragrances smell differently in finished products than they do in the bottle. All reviews that follow our rules will be posted.

Avg. Customer Review: 5 out of 5 stars
Number of Reviews: 26

5 out of 5 stars great colors 05/11/2014
Reviewer: Cristal from El Dorado, AR US
I have used many of these color blocks and they turn out great. can't beat the price either.
5 out of 5 stars coral/peach 06/16/2013
Reviewer: Sarah Copeland from Donna, TX US
I love these color blocks. They have such a deep, rich beautiful color. They melt down very nicely!
5 out of 5 stars Great! 04/14/2013
Reviewer: Diana from NY
these worked very well! very happy with my purchase.
5 out of 5 stars Love these! 03/08/2013
Reviewer: Michelle P. from Indianapolis, IN US
These work so well! Very easy to use, makes great colors and you can't beat the price. A little will go a long way!
5 out of 5 stars A little goes a long way 11/10/2012
Reviewer: Melissa from Detroit, MI US
I bought each of the colors and was amaze that I only need to use a little to get the colore I want. Perfect. I will be ordering more. Price is great!!
5 out of 5 stars Like them 09/17/2012
Reviewer: Tonja Bourda from Houston, TX US
I like the fact that u can use as much or as little u want great idea for beginners like me.
5 out of 5 stars Only a Little 01/10/2012
Reviewer: Tasha from Central, SC US
A little goes a long way with this dye block. You can add more to the wax for a deep orange or just a little for a coral tint.
5 out of 5 stars how i avoid the specks 10/23/2011
Reviewer: David Denton from Dandridge, TN US
i have been making candles and using color blocks to color them for a little over two years now and the best way i have found to do them is put the shaving of color on top of the wax as it is melting down it melts down with the wax and i never end up with the specks at all with candles anymore
5 out of 5 stars Works well 08/16/2011
Reviewer: Kayleen from Wellington, OH US
I have noticed that if you put the color blocks in at 185 degrees then there is a chance of the red colors leaving spots of color in the candles. But if you put the coloring in at a slightly higher temperature it tends to leave spots less. I add it at 190-195 degrees. It works for me.
5 out of 5 stars Love these!! 05/12/2011
Reviewer: Dee Bellini from Wyoming, MI US
I love your color blocks. When I first started making candles I used the color blocks from a competitor, but these colors are so vibrant. I especially love the blue, it is a gorgeous shade of blue. I use these in your joy wax, and sell bunches of candles, more often to repeat customers.
5 out of 5 stars Orange-Red...Not Quite Red 03/01/2010
Reviewer: Erica Fitzgerald from Akron, OH US
I probably should've rated this 4 stars, since it's supposed to be red and isn't quite so, but it's such a pretty color, that I couldn't. I didn't have many problems with the red speckles, like some others...maybe just depends on the melting temp or how much you use. I would think since I use soy, that is probably why it ended up more of an orange-red, since it naturally has a creamy color. If I ever decide I need a "real" red, I'll try the liquid dye, but until then, this will do great!
5 out of 5 stars Cranberry=Pink 01/31/2010
Reviewer: Erica Fitzgerald from Akron, OH US
As another review said, the cranberry makes nice, vibrant shades of pink. Even though I did grate my color with a cheese grater, I did end up with a few small red specks in the larger candles that I poured first, but not a significant amount. I may just need to heat to a little higher temp. Will definitely buy again.
5 out of 5 stars A little goes a long way! 10/12/2009
Reviewer: Erica Fitzgerald from Akron, OH US
I used the coral/peach color and a little really goes a long way. I used it to it's deepest and it came out a bright, vibrant orangey peach. I used a teeny bit less and added a tad of blue and got a great pumpkin color. I even mixed it with blue, again, a little more evenly and got a grape color. I grated it, as others have suggested, and didn't have any problems melting it completely. The only issue I have, is figuring out a way to be consistent with the color...maybe grate it all and put in rubbermaid container.
5 out of 5 stars Love these color blocks 08/16/2009
Reviewer: MARY DOYLE from LINCOLN, IL US
I have used other color blocks but I find these color the best. I am a first time customer of NG and I will be returning!
5 out of 5 stars hot pink! 02/03/2009
Reviewer: Lori from Grosse Ile, MI US
Cranberry makes an excellent hot pink color when used in smaller amounts. Add a little blue and it makes a great purple. Since I only make small batches of candles for personal use I ended up chopping these up and keeping it in small containers so I can grab little bits at a time.
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful Products 07/29/2008
Reviewer: Amber from Cape Coral, FL US
I purchased a few different colors of the blocks. They all worked out great and I will definately buy them again. I was able to mix colors easily and in any shade. I highly recommend them.
2 out of 5 stars Not red, But Orange 07/27/2008
Reviewer: Zelphia Plunk from Texarkana, TX US
I have tried the Red block several times and the color always turns to Orange. A bright beatuiful Orange color, but what I needed was the red.
5 out of 5 stars Excellent 06/25/2008
Reviewer: A viewer from USA
It's so to make beautiful candle colors using the dye blocks!
5 out of 5 stars I Love Blocks 05/09/2008
Reviewer: Darlene Renna from Oak Grove, KY US
I prefer blocks over liquid any day. These are great dyes to work with. I can make light colors, medium colors, dark colors, and even mix colors easily at a great price and they last for a really long time. I love NG dye blocks just looking forward to seeing even more colors in the future.
4 out of 5 stars PRETTY MUCH....... 02/17/2008
Reviewer: Triple C from Warren, OH US
I have tried both color blocks and liquids, and since I started dealing with NG I decided to try both the blocks and the liquid. The liquids are really great with the exception of black, it is really weak even when mixed with used wax of many different colors. But alas I stray: back to the color blocks, they are really just about exactly as advertised, not quite as good as the liquid and they do tend to leave a rather large amount of specks that drift to the bottom but there are a few colors in the blocks that NG doesn't have in the liquids and instead of trying to mix liquids, it's just so much faster to use the blocks to get the wanted color and the minor specks really aren't that bad.
4 out of 5 stars Easy to use 09/16/2006
Reviewer: Kristen Brown from VA US
I think that the color blocks are really easy to use, and to store. I have had the liquids leak if they accidentally get turned on their side. The reds, I sometimes have a harder time getting all of it to melt. I think the wax needs to be hotter when adding reds than any other color to get those tiny pieces to melt. All in all, these blocks are simple to use... just shave off what you need, I document it as how many shavings I used to get my colors... easy to mix, and easy to clean up. Plus, they seem to last longer than the liquid dyes do.
4 out of 5 stars These are very nice... but some issues... 07/10/2006
Reviewer: Amanda Ronco from Baltimore, MD US
I am a newbie and bought these dye blocks to use in test candles... I eventually want to try Liquid Dye... I found these Dyes VERY easy to work with... I use a mini cheese grater that I got from Bittercreek to shave off pieces... Before that tool arrived, I used a carving knife. It doesnt take much to get the color you want whether it is a light or dark color. The only color I did not get was the Cinnamon because I read a few reviews that had some issues with that color. However, I believe that I am having the same issue with 3 of my Block colors that people had with the Cinnamon. The Red, Yellow, and Coral/Peach blocks leave small dots of unmelted chips. These are very small and usually go to the bottom of a candle. I do everything I can and stir a lot to get them dissolved, but the still wont disappear. It is always an Orange/Red speckle... therefore.. I think it has something to do with the RED... the yellow block looks orange.. and you can see red speckles... It does not happen as much with the Peach/Coral... and I have figured out how to not let it happen with Yellow... I do not use any pieces that have a red speckle... Other than that... these are very nice dye blocks... they work very good.. and color very nice... I get a lot of compliments on the colors of my candles!
5 out of 5 stars Getting It Right 05/03/2006
Reviewer: imaketarts from Eglin AFB, FL US
I don't mind these block dyes. I actually find it easy to work with! It only takes very little to achieve the degree of shade you want... My trick is to cut a very thin slice of the colors I want to mix, mix it together, drop a sample of the liquid wax onto a napkin to see the results! The color on the napkin, will be the color of the product when the wax dries. Add more coloring, to make your color choice lighter. You have better control of mixing the colors, rather than keeping your hands steady to add liquid dye.
3 out of 5 stars not very pleased 04/01/2006
Reviewer: Mary Clark-Ortiz from Aliso Viejo, CA US
Even when I put a small amount in the wax I did not get a nice light color. These are very hard to work with. I think I will try the liquid dyes next and see how those do.
4 out of 5 stars Color mix up? 11/16/2005
Reviewer: Karen H from New York State
The color blocks worked great and gave a strong color to the wax. I am pleased with all the colors that I have used except the cinnamon. When I used cinnamon color in the candle wax it was purple in color. Is it spose to be Purple?
4 out of 5 stars All colors great except for Cinnamon... 11/10/2005
Reviewer: Tonya from AL
All the colors I have tried are true to color. The cinnamon color, however, leaves chuncks of color all throughout the candles. I have used the cinnamon several different times and each time I end up with the same problem... which is not pretty in a jar candle.



Size Your Price Qty
Blue $ 0.99
Brown $ 0.99
Burgundy $ 0.99
Cinnamon $ 0.99
Coral/Peach $ 0.99
Cranberry $ 0.99
Green $ 0.99
Purple/Violet $ 0.99
Red $ 0.99
Teal $ 0.99
Yellow $ 0.99
Fragrance Special
Last Viewed Items